55th Celebration of World Telecommunication and Information Society Day

On May 17, 2023 the "55th Celebration of World Telecommunication and Information Society Day" was held by the ITU Association of Japan (ITU-AJ) at the Keio Plaza Hotel in Nishi-Shinjuku (Shinjuku-ward, Tokyo), attended by approximately 120 people associated with the Japanese Government and the telecommunications and broadcasting industries. Video excerpts from the ceremony are also published on YouTube.

Considering conditions with the spread of COVID-19, the event was somewhat larger than last year, and included a celebration reception for the first time in four years.

The ceremony featured congratulatory addresses from Mr. Hiroshi Yoshida, Vice-Minister for Policy Coordination at the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, and Mr. Takeshi Akahori, Ambassador, Assistant Minister, Director-General for Global Issues at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A video message from Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin, who assumed the office of Secretary General of the ITU in January this year, made the event even more distinguished. This was followed by a report from Dr. Hideyuki Tokuda, Chair of the ITU-AJ Award Selection Board, of their selections this year.

The MIC Minister's Award was presented to Mr. Yoshio Miyadera, of Japan Radio Co., Ltd., who has made great contributions over many years, promoting and driving standardization of maritime radiocommunication technologies at international organizations such as the ITU and IMO, defining recommendations that reflect the latest technologies and frequency-utilization in Japan. The ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award was presented to the Starlink Team from SpaceX, for their contributions to eliminating the digital divide and providing critical telecommunications networks to areas that are dangerous or afflicted by natural disaster, with the world's first low-orbit satellite constellation providing high-speed, low-latency internet access.

The ITU Association of Japan Planning Department

ITU-AJ Accomplishment Awards were presented to 14 individuals and one organization and ITU-AJ Encouragement awards were presented to 15 individuals and one organization. These awards recognize the recipients' achievements in international activities related to information, communications and broadcasting, including contributions to ITU activities and activities in Japan related to the ITU, contributions to implementing the basic declaration and action plan for the World Summit on the Information Society, and contributions to international cooperation activities in the fields of telecommunications, broadcasting or the post.

After the ceremony, Ms. Lauren Dreyer, who received the Special Achievement Award on behalf of SpaceX Corp., gave an anniversary keynote presentation titled, "Starlink by SpaceX: Expanding boundaries, both epic and every day."

Photos from the ceremony are posted on the ITU-AJ web site (https://www.ituaj.jp/?page_id=29491, Japanese only).

From the right: Mr. Yoshida, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications; Mr. Akahori, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Mr. Yamakawa, President of ITU-AJ; Mr. Tokuda, Chair of the ITU-AJ Award Selection Board







MIC Minister's Award recipient: Mr. Yoshio Miyadera,

Japan Radio

ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award recipient: The Starlink team, SpaceX



ITU-AJ Accomplishment Award recipients



ITU-AJ Encouragement Award recipients



List of the Award Recipients

MIC Minister's Award Mr. MIYADERA Yoshio (Japan Radio Co., Ltd.) ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award Starlink team (SpaceX) ITU-AJ Accomplishment Awards Mr. ITO Yukio (NEC Corporation) Dr. OTANI Tomohiro (KDDI Corporation) Ms. OTSUKI Memiko (NTT DOCOMO, Inc.) Dr. OODE Satoshi (Japan Broadcasting Corporation) Prof. KAWANISHI Tetsuya (Waseda University) Mr. KII Kango (BHN Association) Dr. GUPTA Gyaneshwar Chandra (Oki Electric Industry Co., Ltd) Mr. KOBAYASHI Satoshi Mr. SHIBATA Tatsuo (Japan Cable Laboratories) Dr. TAKAYA Kazuhiro (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND **TELEPHONE CORPORATION**) Prof. TSUZUKU Aiichirou (MEIJO UNIVERSITY) Mr. NAGAE Yasuyuki (NTT e-Asia Corporation) Mr. MIYAZAKI Makoto (Miyazaki Company Asia) Mr. YAMAZAKI Takahiko (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation) ITU Election Campaign Team (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND TELEPHONE CORPORATION) ITU-AJ Encouragement Awards Mr. ANDO Kei (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Mr. IWASHITA Hidenori (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND TELEPHONE CORPORATION) Dr. KITO Chihiro (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND **TELEPHONE CORPORATION)** Mr. SATO Akihiko (Japan Broadcasting Corporation) Mr. SHOJI Akihiro Dr. SUZUKI Masaki (KDDI Research, Inc.) Mr. SUZUKI Yuji (NTT DOCOMO, Inc.) Mr. TACHIKI Masayoshi (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Dr. TANAKA Kazuki (KDDI Research, Inc.) Mr. NAKAKITA Masamune (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND TELEPHONE EAST CORPORATION) Mr. MATSUMURA Yuki (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Mr. MIYAMOTO Hajime (KDDI Corporation) Mr. YAMAGUCHI Satoshi (Fujitsu Limited) Mr. YURUGI Toshikazu (KDDI Foundation) Mr. WAMI Soichiro (NIPPON TELEGRAPH AND **TELEPHONE EAST CORPORATION**) NICT Space-Time Standards Laboratory Standardization

Team (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)