# Holding of the "50th Anniversary Ceremony of the ITU Association of Japan"

The "50th Anniversary Ceremony of The ITU Association of Japan" was held online on September 1, 2021. This ceremony, consisting of an opening address and congratulatory message, presentation of awards, and a panel discussion, drew about 280 participants.

The ceremony began with a short video presentation titled "50 Years of The ITU Association of Japan" introducing memorable images since 1971, the year of the founding of ITU-AJ.

This was followed by an opening address delivered by Tetsuo YAMAKAWA, President of the ITU Association of Japan. Then, State Minister for Internal Affairs and Communications Masayoshi SHINTANI gave a congratulatory message on the achievements in the past 50 years and future expectations of the association and its supporting members that have contributed to the development of information and communications.

Hideyuki TOKUDA, Chairman of ITU-AJ Award Selection Board, then reported on the selection of winners for the MIC Minister's Award, ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Honor Award, Special Award, and Commemorative Award, and ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award.

Presentation of the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ awards to award winners then began. The MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Honor Award were presented to Mr. Yoshio UTSUMI, who served as Chairman of the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference in 1994 (Kyoto). He was appointed Secretary-General of the ITU in 1998 and demonstrated outstanding leadership for two terms (8 years) until 2006.

In addition, the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Special Award were presented to Dr. Yasuhiko ITO, Dr. Akira HASHIMOTO, and Mr. Makoto MIURA, who, as members or chairmen of the International Frequency Registration Board (IFRB) and Radio Regulations Board (RRB), were actively involved as representatives of Japan in resolving international frequency-related issues. Following this, the ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Commemorative Award was presented to 11 individuals and ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award was presented to 3 individuals.

The commemorative photo for the ceremony featured Mr. Houlin ZHAO, Secretary-General of ITU, Mr. Masanori KONDO, Secretary-General of Asia-Pacific Telecommunity, Mr. Yasuo TAWARA, Director-General of Global Strategy Bureau, MIC, and the award winners, each of which was taken while communicating over the screen—a scene that could only be captured online.

The second half of the ceremony was devoted to a panel

#### The ITU Association of Japan (ITU-AJ) Planning Department

discussion with Mr. Houlin ZHAO, Secretary-General of ITU, Mr. Masanori KONDO, Secretary General of Asia-Pacific Telecommunity, and Mr. Yasuo TAWARA, Director-General of Global Strategy Bureau, MIC under the theme of "International Standardization Activities; Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow— Expectation and Future for the ITU Association of Japan—." Moderated by ITU-AJ President Tetsuo YAMAKAWA, this discussion featured a lively exchange of opinions including the shared belief that "the field of ICT is going through severe changes, which makes the standardization of technology all the more important in such an era."

Through this ceremony, it was deeply moving to learn again about the operations of ITU-AJ up to the present thanks to the efforts of many people, and for this we are sincerely grateful. Under the slogan of "Towards the Next 50 Years!" the mission of

#### Mr. Yoshio UTSUMI, winner of the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Honor Award



Dr. Yasuhiko ITO, Dr. Akira HASHIMOTO, and Mr. Makoto MIURA, winners of the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Special Award



#### Commemorative photo of award winners



ITU-AJ is to serve its members in the upcoming era by joining forces and working together one step at a time. We look forward to our members' ongoing support.

#### Panel discussion



Information on this ceremony is provided on the ITU-AJ website, so please take a look.

https://www.ituaj.jp/?page\_id=25499

## List of Award Winners (Affiliation is at time of recommendation)

MIC Minister's Award	
Yoshio UTSUMI	Former Secretary-General of International Telecommunication Union
Yasuhiko ITO	Former KDDI
Akira HASHIMOTO	NTT DOCOMO
Makoto MIURA	Former International Telecommunication Union
ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Honor Award	
Yoshio UTSUMI	Former Secretary-General of International Telecommunication Union
ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Special Award	
Yasuhiko ITO	Former KDDI
Akira HASHIMOTO	NTT DOCOMO
Makoto MIURA	Former International
	Telecommunication Union
ITU-AJ 50th Anniversary Commemorative Award	
Koichi ASATANI	Kogakuin University
Yuji INOUE	Know et Nova Co., Ltd.
	DOCOMO Technology, Inc.
Seizo ONOE	
Sadahiko KANO	BHN Association
	BHN Association Seisa University
Sadahiko KANO	BHN Association
Sadahiko KANO Yasuhiko KAWASUMI	BHN Association Seisa University National Institute of Information and Communications
Sadahiko KANO Yasuhiko KAWASUMI Kohei SATOH	BHN Association Seisa University National Institute of Information and Communications Technology Former Asia-Pacific
Sadahiko KANO Yasuhiko KAWASUMI Kohei SATOH Hiroyasu SONOKI	BHN Association Seisa University National Institute of Information and Communications Technology Former Asia-Pacific Telecommunity
Sadahiko KANO Yasuhiko KAWASUMI Kohei SATOH Hiroyasu SONOKI Yukihiro NISHIDA	BHN Association Seisa University National Institute of Information and Communications Technology Former Asia-Pacific Telecommunity Japan Broadcasting Corporation Centre for International Capacity

ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award	
Satoshi OYAMA	Association of Radio Industries and Businesses
Hachihei KUREMATSU	BHN Association
Takao SHIMIZU	Tokyo Broadcasting System Television, Inc.

### *Cover Art =*



Fifty-three Stations on the Tokaido: Rokugo Ferry at Kawasaki. Utagawa Hiroshige (1797~1858)

> Collection of the Art Research Center (ARC) Ritsumeikan University Object number: BN03828992-1-03