# 48th Celebration for World Telecommunication and Information Society Day (WTISD)

## The ITU Association of Japan

As you are well aware, May 17 marks the anniversary of the signing of the first International Telegraph Convention in 1865. On the day, many countries celebrate it as World Telecommunication and Information Society Day (WTISD).

Amongst them, the ITU Association of Japan (ITU-AJ) marked the occasion by holding the 48th Celebration in Tokyo, Japan, with 300 participants from the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the major players in the Japanese ICT industry. Every year at the ceremony, ITU-AJ gives awards to those who made great contributions and efforts in light of WTISD aims, such as international standardization activities as well as international cooperation in relation to sustainable development goals.

The highest honor, the "MIC Minister's Award," was presented to Dr. Akira Hashimoto of NTT DOCOMO. Many ITU-R friends around the world can recall his successful chairmanship of the Radiocommunication Assembly 2015 (RA-15) last year, which was just a part of his longstanding contributions to the various fields of ITU-R activities.

Also, the ITU-AJ Award for Special Achievement was given to

Dr. Miwako Doi of NICT, who made superb contributions to the field of "Human Interface" from software to devices and chips.

This year, as ITU-AJ celebrates its 45th anniversary, Special Awards for Distinguished Service were given to Mr. Gary Fishman, Dr. Yasuo Hirata, Dr. Mitsuji Matsumoto, and Dr. Takehiko Yoshino.

Other awards were also presented to prominent figures in the fields of international standardization and international cooperation, as listed below.

ITU-AJ wishes the winners all the best during their future career paths in the years to come.



The award winners in 2016 are as follows:

### MIC Minister's Award

Akira Hashimoto (NTT DOCOMO)

## ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award

Miwako Doi (NICT)

#### ITU-AJ Awards for Distinguished Service

Gary Fishman (Pearlfisher International)

Yasuo Hirata (ATR)

Mitsuji Matsumoto (Waseda Univ.)

Takehiko Yoshino (NHK (Retired))

## ITU-AJ Award: Accomplishment in the Field of ICT

Hiroyuki Atarashi (NTT DOCOMO)

Takumi Ohba (NTT)

Yoshinori Ohmura (KDDI / ARIB)

Takatoshi Okagawa (NTT DOCOMO)

Akira Ogawa (NHK)

Ryoichi Kawada (KDDI)

Yoshinori Goto (NTT)

Kimihiro Tajima (NTT-AT)

Nozomu Nishinaga (NICT)

Takahiko Yamazaki (Mitsubishi Electric)

#### ITU-AJ Award: Accomplishment in the Field of

International Cooperation

"King Abdulaziz University HPC System in Saudi Arabia" Project (Fujitsu)

DigiCon6 ASIA Project (TBS)

Masahiro Kamimura (ITEA)

Masaru Someya (KDDI Foundation)

Kenichi Terauchi (BHN Association)

Akira Nagase (NHK Integrated Technology)

Masatoshi Mano (Oki Electric Industry)

Yoshiki Maruyama (ARIB)

#### Encouragement Award: Field of ICT

Akira Agata (KDDI)

Kenjiro Arai (NTT)

Hiroko Ioka (Fujitsu)

Kazuhito Ishida (Qualcomm Japan)

Wuri A. Hapsari (NTT DOCOMO)

Satoshi Oode (NHK)

Shoichiro Oda (Fujitsu)

Ashiq Khan (NTT DOCOMO)

Tetsuya Kawanishi, Toshiaki Kuri (NICT)

Kei Kawamura (KDDI)

Kunihiro Toge (NTT)

Akihiro Nakao (Tokyo Univ.)

Ryota Mibu (NEC)

Yoshio Miyadera (JRC)

Hitoshi Yabusaki (Hitachi)

#### Encouragement Award: Field of International Cooperation

Task Force for New ISDB-T Countries (ARIB)

Tomoaki Kanazawa (NTT East)

Kenji Sagayama (Eagle World Development)

Nobuyuki Sato (NHK)

Junji Matsuoka (NHK)

Shigehiko Yasumura (Fujitsu)