47th Celebration for World Telecommunication and Information Society Day (WTISD)

The ITU Association of Japan

Photo 1: Group Photo



May 17 marks the anniversary of the signing of the first International Telegraph Convention. The Convention was signed in 1865, 150 years ago, and became the starting point of the International Telecommunication Union.

This year, the ITU Association of Japan (ITU-AJ) marked the occasion by holding the 47th Celebration for World Telecommunication and Information Society Day (WTISD) at the Keio Plaza Hotel in Tokyo, Japan, with over 270 participants from the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the ICT industry. The ceremony featured a video message from the ITU Secretary-General, Mr. Houlin Zhao, celebrating our 47th WTISD event as well as the 150th anniversary of the ITU.

At each year's Celebration, ITU-AJ presents awards to recognize those who have furthered the aims of WTISD by raising awareness of how information and communication technologies



(ICT) can contribute to international standardization and cooperation between societies and economies with regard to sustainable development goals, and can help bridge the digital divide. This is a longestablished award ceremony that was first held 43 years ago.

The highest honor — the MIC Minister's Award — was presented to Toshio Obi, Professor of GSAPS and Director of the Institute of e-Government at Waseda University.

Other ITU-AJ Awards, in the form of trophies, were also presented to prominent figures in the fields of standardization and international cooperation, as listed below.

Awards for accomplishment in the field of ICT (international standardization) were presented to seven winners, while awards for accomplishment in the field of international cooperation were given to eight winners. Encouragement awards were presented to twelve winners in the field of ICT and seven in the field of international cooperation, in expectation of their on-going contributions in their respective fields.

The list of award winners is as follows:

MIC Minister's Award

Toshio Obi, GSAPS/ WASEDA UNIVERSITY ITU-AJ Award: Accomplishment in the Field of ICT Hiroshi Ota, ITU Shigeyuki Sakazawa, KDDI R&D LABS Kazuyuki Shiraki, NTT Masaru Takechi, NHK Kenji Furukawa, NTT DOCOMO Akira Matsunaga, KDDI Makoto Murakami, NTT

ITU-AJ Award: Accomplishment in the Field of International Cooperation

Asia Mobile Backhaul Improvement Project: Contribution to Environment of Broadband Communication in APAC Region, NEC Yosuke Uchiyama, KDDI/KDDI FOUNDATION Masayoshi Kuwahara, NHK (retired) Jiro Kokan, NTT (retired) Tadayoshi Kotoge, BHN ASSOCIATION Toshikazu Sakano, ATR Atsushi Takahara, NTT Hiroshi Toda, ITEA Kiyoshi Mushu, NTT (retired)

Encouragement Award: Field of ICT

Kota Asaka, NTT Koji Isshiki, NTT-AT Hiromasa Umeda, NTT DOCOMO Masashi Eto, NICT Makoto Kadowaki, NEC MAGNUS Kohei Kambara, NHK Kiyoshi Tanaka, NTT Sei Naito, KDDI R&D LABS Satoshi Nagata, NTT DOCOMO Nobuhiko Naka, NTT DOCOMO Kazutomo Hasegawa, FUJITSU Yusuke Fukui, KDDI

Encouragement Award: Field of International Cooperation

Kazuhiko Akatsu, NTT EAST Minako Akiba, BHN ASSOCIATION Yoshinori Kawana, NHK Susumu Tanaka, NEC Digital Broadcasting Experts Group, ARIB Shinichi Nobutsune, KDDI FOUNDATION Hiroshi Fujita, NHK